Now through April 10th, 2021

The 147th running of the Kentucky Derby is set for Saturday, May 1 at Churchill Downs.

The field for the Derby is limited to 20 horses

The Road to the Kentucky Derby consists of a series of   35 races in North America and 1 race in Dubai.  The races are tiered in value and award points to the top 4 finishers in each race. The horses with the most points qualify to run in The Kentucky Derby.

The Road to the 2021 Kentucky Derby began on September 5, 2020 and continues through April 10, 2021

At Lone Star Park you can watch and wager on all of remaining Road to the Kentucky races

Click on these links for a schedule of all Road to the Kentucky Derby races and for  the current Point Standings based on all races run to date.

The next several Road to the Kentucky Derby races are

  • John Battaglia Memorial at Turfway Park on Friday, February 26
  • The Southwest Stakes at Oaklawn Park on Saturday, February 27
  • The Fountain of Youth at Gulfstream Park on Saturday, February 27
  • The Gotham Stakes at Aqueduct on Saturday, March 6
  • The Tampa Bay Derby at Tampa Bay Downs on Saturday, March 6
  • The San Felipe Stakes at Santa Anita on Saturday, March 6

The major Road to the Kentucky Races and the ones with the most points available are

  • The Louisiana Derby at the Fair Grounds on Saturday, March 20
  • The UAE Derby from Meydan Racecourse in Dubai on Saturday, March 27
  • The Jeff Ruby Stakes at Turfway Park on Saturday March, 27
  • The Florida Derby from Gulfstream Park on Saturday March, 27
  • The Blue Grass Stakes from Keeneland on Thursday, April 1
  • The Santa Anita Derby from Santa Anita on Saturday, April 3
  • The Wood Memorial from Aqueduct on Saturday, April 3
  • The Arkansas Derby from Oaklawn Park on Saturday, April 10

In addition to the North American Road to the Kentucky Derby, there also a European Road (7 races) and a Japanese Road (4 races) —The horse earning  the most points on each of the the European and Japanese roads is guaranteed an invitation to run in the Kentucky Derby and be among the 20 entrants